Lessons Mother Taught Me

jokondotnet

wpid-IMG_20130506_215448.jpg

     It never occurred to me how much an impact my mother had on my life until I grew older. In fact, the older I’ve grown, the more of my mother’s life I see in myself. I  never knew that just by being around her, I absorbed countless life lessons that have carried me through my early years as a mother, a wife, an employee, and a citizen of the world. (truly the hand that rocks the cradle, rules the world)

     Well, where do I start: I think the earliest lesson Mother taught me was to persevere in the face of adversity. I grew up in the deeply segregated South of the 1960’s. I was five years old when I began school in a previously segregated elementary school, and unfortunately the atmosphere I was thrown into was something less than cordial. My older brother, older sister, and cousin were the only…

View original post 754 more words

Leave a Reply

