The Power In Trusting God

     Trust isn’t easily earned especially with the issues we are confronted with today. There are some people we trust most of the way or part of the way; but Jesus Christ is the only one I know who we can trust all the way.
The first scripture that comes to mind on trusting God is Proverbs 3: 5,6… “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, lean not unto thine own understanding, in all thy ways acknowledge him and he shall direct thy paths.” The idea of trusting God is rooted in faith in God. We drive over a bridge that spans miles with tons of water beneath it because we have faith that the bridge won’t collapse. We turn the ignition to a car expecting it to send power to the engine so the car will move; all done in faith in a mechanical process. If one can have faith in man-made machines and technology,why shouldn’t we have faith in God who created the heavens and the earth.
There are three reasons why trusting God makes perfectly good sense:
1. Trusting God brings about peace. Psalm 56: 3,4 states, “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust, I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.”
At a time in history where nothing is certain; whether it is our jobs, our health, relationships that go awry: God gives us a sense of stability that whatever else fails, God will always be there and the promises of his word to us also.
2. Trusting God extends your life. Psalm 25:1,2 says, ” Unto thee O’ Lord do I lift up my soul,O my God, I trust in thee: let me not be ashamed, let not my enemies triumph over me.” When faced with the perils of this present life, we don’t always know who our enemies are. When our trust is in God, he not only can show you plainly who is a “backstabber”, but he can deliver you from the snare of those who pretend to be your friends. This is important not only physically, but more importantly spiritually.
3. Trusting God keeps us from making serious mistakes in judgement. ” As for God his way is perfect, the word of the Lord is tried, he is a buckler to all them that trust him.” Listening to God’s spirit and studying his word carefully is more than enough to direct us to where we should go and away from where we shouldn’t. Many times people have made life choices that were detrimental, which could have been avoided had they sought God and his word. You can not separate God from love, nor from his word. God would never lead us into anything that would cause us irreversible harm.

This post will be continued.

Leave a Reply

