God’s Gift To The Single Person

     In God’s plan the woman was created for the man; for as it says in Genesis, …it is not good that man be alone. God made men and women for each other, however, if someone finds themselves single whether due to having never been married, or divorced or widowed, there are advantages of the single state over the married one. 
I Corinthians 7: 32,33 states, …He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord. But he that is married careth for the things of the world, how he may please his wife. The main thing that God wants is that no one perishes. Paul, the Apostle was a soul-winner, his heart and ministry was in preaching the Gospel to the lost. He felt God’s heart in ministering to the Gentile,(non-Jew), and he preached in that way because he wanted men(mankind) to become followers of Jesus Christ.
When we are single we have the freedom to be ambassadors for Jesus Christ without the responsibilities of raising a family or pleasing another individual. Although marriage and raising a family is a ministry in itself. I Corinthians 7: 38 says, ” So then he that giveth her in marriage doeth well, but he that giveth her not in marriage doeth better.”
Marriage is an honorable state and one to be respected; yet the single person has the opportunity to serve God without reservation or distraction. Marriage is to be preferred if one is unable to control their sexual desires. I Corinthians 7:9 says it is better to marry than to burn. However, Paul noted that those who marry will have trouble in their flesh. (I Cor. 7:28) Sometimes the way to avoid certain troubles is to avoid marriage, if you are able to.
The single state is a gift to the Christian so that we can serve God unselfishly,and find God’s plan for the life that he gave us. This view contrasts with the world’s view of being single to live a life given over to greed or lusts.
The questions that the single must ask themselves can be determined by whether someone was never married or whether they became single through death or divorce. Many times the never married and the once married have to ask themselves the same questions.

Questions for the never married:

Who am I in regards to God’s plan for my life?
What vocation or career path does God want me to choose?
Am I to marry and with whom will I share my life?
How can my life be used to serve God and others unselfishly?

Questions for the divorced or widowed:

Who am I in Christ without my spouse?
what is God’s plan for the remainder of my life?
How can I use my past experiences to serve God and minister to others?

Questions that both can ask:
How should I use the gifts and talents that God has given me to serve him?
How can I live my life to reflect more of Christ and less of myself?
Where can God use me most effectively to be his ambassador?
If we believe that the main focus of our lives is to serve and please the one who created us, and to love him with our whole heart; then giving our lives to him is an honor, not a burden. As Christians, the healthy approach to singleness is to see the advantages in it, and know that even though at times we may be alone; not necessarily lonely; yet even when we are lonely, there is one to comfort us even in that. May God be with those who serve him whether married or single.

Leave a Reply

