Why Love Matters

I recall listening to a sermon preached by a pastor at my former church; most every word she spoke was true and she delivered it eloquently. I thought after she finished speaking , my spirit isn’t receiving this, I can’t accept this.
I couldn’t define it at the time, but I now realize I couldn’t receive her message because it wasn’t delivered in love. I Corinthians 13:1
states, If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love , I am only a sounding gong or a clanging cymbal.” To preach the Gospel without love is meaningless.
Only God can give us the heart to love, because God is love.
People have many reasons for doing things; including preaching the Gospel. Some people want to minister the Gospel because they love the “glamour” of having people listen to them speak. Perhaps they are in love with the sound of their own words and lifting themselves up above others. Others may be unable to minister in love because they were never shown love themselves.
But the main reason preachers can’t minister in love is because they lack compassion. Being compassionate enables us to put ourselves in the place of others and identify with their suffering. Hebrews 4: 15 says that “we do not have a high priest that is unable sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who was tempted in every way-yet was without sin.”
Jesus felt everything as a human being because he was all human as well as all God. He identified with the human condition, and he wasn’t afraid to let his humanity show; even though he was divine. He grew hungry and tired, he became angry and yes, he suffered grief.
In Matthew 9:36 it states , “When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.” Jesus cared as only a loving God could care; which is why he died. He loved us unto death. I can really say that I have been loved to death ,by Jesus Christ.
Not too long ago I was lying in bed listening to the Bible app on my phone. I had suffered great emotional distress this day and I felt the need to hear God’s voice. As I listened to the scripture, I could feel the love leaping from the pages as the reader spoke.
The love wasn’t coming from the reader, but it was from the power of God’s spoken word.
As ministers of the New Covenant who preach the Gospel we must realize our ministering should be done in love. Human love is limited, so when ministering to others we need the love of God. In all that we do in the Kingdom of God: whether in church or out of church , unless done in love it doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

